Lessons In Moderation


Pigging Out on Salad
April 7, 2011, 5:40 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , ,

I swung by Whole Foods for lunch today because I love the salad bar.  I love loading up on things I probably wouldn’t buy and prepare at home like wheatberries, tofu, tempeh (is that how you spell it?)…you get the point.  I think by now we all know salad bars are a tricky business there is usually enough bad stuff readily available to counteract the good stuff so you really do need to practice moderation when you choose the salad bar option (is it more clear why there is a picture of a salad bar on the banner of this blog now?).

I feel at Whole Foods  I do a good job at this because there are so many healthy options available that I don’t get at my normal salad bar that bacon crumbles or a creamy ranch dressing doesn’t really appeal to me.  Today was the same, I feel like I loaded up on good stuff like lentils, wheatberries, spinach, chickpeas, beets and a little bit of orzo salad which included feta, spinach and an olive oil based dressing on it.  To me that’s a pretty decent salad but I’m sitting here now feeling so stuffed and not in a good way.  So I guess the lesson here is, even if your salad is 90% awesome and 10% junky, you can still eat too much and feel like going into a food coma after. Let’s face it… no one wants to feel fat after eating a SALAD!

Has this ever happened to you?  Do you ever over do it on good stuff and feel blah?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

