Lessons In Moderation


Spring Cleaning…..Workout Clothes Edition
April 4, 2011, 6:08 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

After the snow on Friday, the sunny weekend really put me in the mood for spring cleaning.   Well let me re-word that.  The sunshine gave me a glimmer of hope that summer will actually come, which means I will need to be in a bathing suit so I have to really start consistently working out but I hate all my work out clothes and the closet that I keep them in looks like a bomb went off so I need to get on the ball.  How is that for a stream of consciousness…

I wrote before about the importance of good workout clothes, but I really didn’t do too much about it.  Aside from a few sports bras I haven’t purged my current workout “collection” and invested in some good stuff that will help motivate me.  So this week my goal is to bag up some of my old/un-flattering t-shirts and pants and donate them, but then that will leave me with about 3 pairs of pants and a few t-shirts so I’ll have to re-stock.  Here is the low down on what I need and some of the issues I’m facing.

1. Sports bras – I mentioned that I have bought a few over the last few months but I would like to get a few more good ones.  I’m not Dolly Parton, but I do wear two for extra support so I go through them fast.  I find if you wear two you can get away with the cheaper ones.

2. Pants – The age-old challenge for short people.  I want a flattering workout pant in dri-fit (is that only a Nike thing?) or some other moisture wicking material.  People rave over LuLu Lemon but it’s hard for me to justify the cost when I wouldn’t pay that much for pants that I would wear to work.  Is LuLu or any other high-priced brand worth it or are you just paying for the name?

3. T-Shirts – I really don’t have a problem with these, other than the fact I have too many and most of them have shrunk enough so they hit me right at the belly button…that’s no good.  So even with a good purge I think I will be all set on that front.

So hopefully by the end of the week I’ll have the ill-fitting stuff out the door and I will have a better idea of what I really need.  What are your thoughts on work out clothes?  What’s the one item you can’t live without?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

