Lessons In Moderation


Restaurant Review: Phat Cat Bistro, Amesbury, MA
April 1, 2011, 1:53 pm
Filed under: Restaurant Reviews

I recently visited Phat Cat Bistro in Amesbury, MA and I think it’s a must  try if you are in the area.  It’s a very small restaurant just outside downtown Amesbury and I definitely recommend making a reservation because of the limited amount of seating.

Phat Cat had a great atmosphere – very cozy – and I didn’t even mind some of the cat themed decor (I HATE cats).  The menu is great.  It has everything from burgers and sliders to gnocci to multi-grain risotto.  I ordered the multi-grain risotto with baked tofo and miso sauce and it was delicious.  Initially I was a little surprised because the texture and taste was more like a rice bowl than risotto, but the combination of the risotto, miso sauce, roasted zucchini, squash and beets produced a very tasty dish that I would order again in a heart beat.  I didn’t order dessert but others at the table did and out came the biggest piece of carrot cake and chocolate cake that I had ever seen.  I tried a bite of both and they were delish.  Loved the cream cheese frosting on the carrot cake.

The only down side was the extremely slow service.  We made reservations but we still ended up waiting about 15 more minutes which wasn’t a huge deal, but then once we were seated there was about a 45 minute wait from when we placed our order until we got our food and during that time there was no apologizing or “it will be out soon” from our waitress which was a little frustrating, but once we got our food all was forgiven.  It may have been an off night.  They also had a great olive spread they served with great bread so that helped us get through the crazy long wait for our meals.

So bottom line: very cute little bistro with something for everyone one the menu.  Next time I go I’ll make sure to leave room for dessert.

Have you ever been there? How did you like it?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

