Lessons In Moderation


I lost 5%!
August 6, 2010, 4:09 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

First of all thanks for all of you loyal readers who keep visiting my blog despite my erratic posting schedule.  I promise I will get better.

Second, my Weight Watchers session is coming to an end and I lost 5% of my body weight in 13 weeks.  I didn’t hit my goal but I learned a lot.  Here are somethings that I figured out that may help you.

1.  All calories are not created equal – This seems obvious but I noticed on weeks when I stayed within my points but ate a lot of processed stuff I either stayed the same or gained a bit of weight.  I also noticed that my clothes felt a little snug (must be all the sodium).  On weeks where I ate the same amount of points and even exceed my alloted points with fruits, vegetables, whole grains, lean protein etc… I noticed a big difference either on the scale in my clothes or both.   I know you may be thinking…”Thank you Captain Obvious” but this was a big discovery for me.  Cleary I knew I was getting way more nutritional value from the good stuff, but for weight loss I didn’t think it mattered as long as I was taking in the correct amount of calories.

2.  Don’t beat yourself  up – Sometimes I  would feel a little bad about myself because I don’t consider myself a healthy eater or a runner/athlete by nature.  I will be honest and say if I could eat what I want without gaining weight it would be mac n cheese and nachos as far as the eye could see. 🙂 Sometimes when I read other health bloggers it seems like they make these choices effortlessly or their background is that they have always enjoyed healthy eating blah blah blah.   That’s great for them but what about the junk food junkies?  I say…embrace it.  Don’t always indulge it but embrace it.  Live is for living and nachos are for eating so when you do indulge yourself, savor every bite and pity those grilled chicken and veggie eaters.  How is that for a lesson in moderation?

3.  Don’t be afraid to take the easy way out – I love Real Simple magazine but sometimes I find the recipes to be a little challenging or time-consuming (side note: I usually have this problem with all recipes so it’s nothing against Real Simple).   So to get over my intimidation and general dislike of cooking I just fake it. Sure they want you to use fresh veggies, I use frozen…big whoop.  So what if they want this stupid spice or veggie that you can’t find in the store…just use what you have and figure it out.  If it’s a new recipe you don’t know what it’s supposed to taste like and all recipes can be saved with a little hot sauce.

4.  Frank’s Red Hot – I really do put that shit on everything.  It can make the good stuff taste even better and it can make a recipe gone wrong edible.

So, if you are struggling maybe these tips will help?  Like I said, I’m done with Weight Watchers for now.  It’s always good for a reality check and I’m still going to keep counting points while I get the rest of my weight off but I’m ditching the meetings because I don’t feel like paying for another session because it’s that time of year for me to buy back to school clothes!!!

p.s.  I’m not going back to school, but I just love this time of the year in the stores where all the fall stuff is out. It always reminds me of back to school shopping when I was younger.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

