Lessons In Moderation


Review: Shirataki Noodles
June 4, 2010, 1:30 pm
Filed under: Product Reviews | Tags: , ,

In this month’s Shape I read a blurb about “Miracle Noodles” and how they are a great no carb, very low cal option to pasta.  As a carboholic I was intrigued.  I did some Googling on Tuesday and found that pricy Miracle Noodles are essentially Shirataki Noodles, which are thin Japanese noodles consisting mostly composed of a dietary fiber called glucomannan and contain very few calories and carbohydrates (sometimes even zero). 

I grabbed two packages at Whole Foods and decided to make a lo mein type dish with the noodles, soy sauce, a bit of peanut sauce and tons of veggies.  The noodles come packed in liquid (water?) and from my research I learned that there might be a slight fishy smell but that would go away if the noodles were rinsed.  That made me a little paranoid because my husband hates seafood and I was nervous if the smell didn’t dissipate there would be a fishy taste as well.  Luckily after rinsing the smell was gone. 

The noodles come ready to eat and can be boiled for a few minutes to heat up.  I decided to add them to my wok and simmered the noodles, veggies and sauce for a while so the noodles would really absorb the flavor.

Final verdict? GROSS!!!! The noodles didn’t have much taste so it wasn’t the flavor that bothered me it was the texture.  Just way to rubbery/squishy.  I was not expecting this to taste like a regular noodle, I can deal with pasta substitutes like spaghetti squash but this was just to gross for me.  I ate the veggies but had to throw away the noodles. 

Nutritionally they are great, but I don’t think any amount of sauce or other good stuff in a dish could make up for that texture.

Have you tried them and had a different experience?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I LOVE THE SHIRITAKI Noodles! I am used to strange textures and after having been a raw foodist, on a macrobitic diet, and ayrveic diet I love adding new things. I went to an Asian Market in NYC (where I live and bought packs for very inexpensive. I see so many people eat useless “diet” food that this is a welcome change… you just have to have more open-minded taste buds that being said, I can’t stand the texture of squash or egg plant so to each their own… but helps me have something very filling in the day!

Comment by Tasha_HCG

When I first read about these a few years ago through Hungry Girl, I was so excited that I bought 9 bags from Whole Foods. What a mistake! I haven’t bought them since. Haha. I miss your posts. Where are you Amanda?!

Comment by Cooking with Coley




Leave a Reply

