Lessons In Moderation


Eating too Fast
April 21, 2010, 6:29 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

I have a tendency to eat too fast.  This has been the case since I was a little kid.  I was always told by my mother to slow down and I did notice that when I hung out with my friends after school I would be done with my snack way before everyone else. 

I know that eating too fast is detrimental to weight loss because it doesn’t give your stomach enough time to recognize your level of fullness and let your brain know you need to stop.  Last night I decided I was going to slow down and enjoy my meal.  I took slow deliberate bites and sometimes put my fork down and had a sip of my water, which is something I never usually do.  I plow through whatever is on my plate then I have something to drink.  The end result was a nice meal with no stomach aches afterward and no going up for seconds.  There might be something to this after all.

Are you a fast eater or a reformed fast eater? What did you do to slow it down?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

i am naturally a very fast eater, but i have REALLY been focusing on slowing down — slow but sure!

Comment by shannon (The Daily Balance)




Leave a Reply

