Lessons In Moderation


Am I a Foodie???
April 1, 2010, 1:22 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

I have been thinking about the term “foodie.”  If I was defining a foody off the top of my head I would say someone one who loves to cook and eat fancy foods and talks about flavor profiles and other Top Chef lingo.  That would not be me.  While I do love to try new and different types of foods I would never cook it for myself (Nicole at Cooking with Coley is such a foodie that she makes her own flippin sushi….I would never attempt that!).  I love trying new restaurants  but I’m just as happy with the nachos at TGI Friday’s (a real Foodie would probably cringe at going to a chain restaurant).

So in my mind I clearly wasn’t a foodie….. I am someone who real foodies turn their nose up in disgust when I suggest we start with some mozzerlla sticks!

I decided get the true definition of a foodie and according to Wikipedia it is is an informal term for a particular class of aficionado of food and drink. Foodies differ from gourmets in that gourmets are epicures of refined taste who may or may not be professionals in the food industry, whereas foodies are amateurs who simply love food for consumption, study, preparation, and news.

So according to that definition…I still don’t know if I’m a foodie.  I am an amateur who simply loves food for consumption, study, preparation and news but I wouldn’t say my taste is refined (Doritos anyone?)

What do you think of when you think of the term foodie?  Do you consider yourself to be one?

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Someone who cares enough about each bite to blog about it every day! I think we are foodies 🙂

Comment by marla {Family Fresh Cooking}

Interesting post. I appreciate the credit but I have to be honest… I do love to indulge in some Doritos here and there! And nothing is wrong with the art of pairing mozzerella sticks and chicken fingers with a cold draft at a bar. OK, so maybe it’s not art, but I agree with the defintation and Marla in that – foodies are people who just love to eat and talk (or blog!) about food.

Comment by Coley

Like all sorts of groups of people there is variation.
There are snobby foodies, technical foodies, folks who are passionate about food, etc. They are all foodies, just different kinds. It isn’t a title really, it’s just a name for a group.
Afterall not all star trek fans dress up as folks from the show…but yet they are still trekkies…or trekkers.

Comment by thehungryhobbit




Leave a Reply

