Lessons In Moderation


Vitamin D Deficiency and Me

I’m not sure if I have shared this in my blog yet, but I have hypothyroidism, which means my thyroid is functioning much slower which can cause extreme exhaustion, weight gain, joint and muscle pain.  I was diagnosed with this about 3 years ago, with my main symptom being overwhelming exhaustion.  I never had any unexplained weight gain. 

The doctor who diagnosed me is a complete moron and she didn’t want to hear that although I was on medication for my thyroid issues and my blood tests were normal, I still felt pretty bad.  In the past year or so my exhaustion seemed to be getting worse, and we all know about my weight gain.  Some of that weight gain was explainable but the fact that I can’t seem to shed a pound now is annoying.  

Since I knew my old stupid doctor wasn’t going to help me at all, I made an appointment with a new wonderful doctor who listened to me, ran a lot of tests and found out that I have a severe vitamin D deficiency, which can lead to many of the same symptoms as a under active thyroid.   I’m now on 50,000 units of Vitamin D per week and after 8 weeks hopefully my levels are normal and I start to feel better.  The vain side of me is hoping that the combination of me eating healthy, working out regularly and the correct medicine for my thyroid problem and vitamin D deficiency will give me that push to lose this extra weight.

Here is the moral of the story:

As you get older it is harder to drop pounds but not impossible.  If you are being honest with yourself and doing everything right, talk to your doctor about it to find out if there is a medical reason.

Don’t tolerate a sucky doctor.  I feel really sad and angry at myself for just accepting what that moron doctor said and spending the last 3 years of my life feeling blah.  It was my “new” normal…I could function but I never felt good and I never felt rested even after a full night sleep.  Now I’m hoping that I can feel good again because I still kind of remember what life was like before I was exhausted all the time.

Has anyone else ever had issues with thyroid or vitamin D deficiency? Any tips or tricks that helped you deal?

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have a vitamin D deficiency and I recently started taking a vitamin D each day (in addition to my regular vitamins). I haven’t noticed a change yet.

Comment by hundredtenpounds

[…] There is ALWAYS an Excuse!Am I a Foodie???It Was All Coming Together So NicelyI Can Feel It!Vitamin D Deficiency and MeI’m OVER it….Confessions of a Carb Addict: I Made All the Wrong Food ChoicesJust so you […]

Pingback by Stop Comparing… But How? « Lessons In Moderation




Leave a Reply

