Lessons In Moderation


I Hate Grocery Shopping
March 5, 2010, 3:25 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

I have always hated grocery shopping! As a little kid I hated it when I had to go to the store with my mother and now as an adult I hate it even more because not only do I have to go to the store (and I swear, as soon as people cross the threshold of Market Basket they lose brain cells , sense of personal space and any shreds of common courtesy) I have to pay for the stuff then I have to drag it home, put it away and then at some point figure out what I’m going to try to cook.  

One thing I hate more than grocery shopping is actually cooking a meal, so even though I try to plan out my meals and buy stuff I need to make them, I never end up making them and I have to throw things away!

Basically, what I’m trying to say in this rant about the grocery store, food shopping is a science that I have not yet perfected (and probably won’t until a grocery store delivery service makes it way to my town).  Even though I have a list I feel like I’m walking around aimlessly, I hate having to wait at the deli counter and I feel like I spend way too much money every week to feed two people (especially two people who eat out regularly). 

Anyone have any tips for a grocery store phobe like me? Do you tend to do a big shopping once a week or buy as you need stuff?

Ok….enough about the grocery stores….I don’t even want to get started about how much I hate wholesale clubs like Sams or B.J.s.  I know you can get great deals blah blah blah…I just hate the interior of stores like that.  Anyway, yesterday we focused on upper body and cardio at bootcamp and I have to say my arms and shoulders are sore today.  Blow drying my hair was painful (in a good way) and I’m sure tomorrow will be worse.  It’s always worse the second day for me. Since we are doing indoor bootcamp we do a lot of jump roping for cardio and I hate it.  I’m not good at it and I hate the noise of all the jump ropes make (weird I know but I find it incredibly annoying, especially the people who try to go super fast and mess up…I’m just trying to find a rhythm).  Even though I hate jump roping I have noticed that after two weeks I’ve gotten a lot better at it.  It’s encouraging to see results and realize all the effort is resulting in a positive change.  My goal is to run one mile consistently this weekend and then do two more miles using the walk/run method to help with my endurance and speed.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I love the grocery store. I love making a list, the actual shopping part, looking for the sales, walking down the aisles and trying out new stores (if I’m not in a rush) – I’m kinda a weirdo huh?

You should always have a list and don’t go when you’re hungry or you’ll buy everything! Here are some other thoughts…

Buy chicken and pork and keep them in the freezer, this way you can take them out before work when you know you want to cook that night.

Plan to make just one or two meals (buy ingredients for those dishes) and then give yourself a few days time to make them. This way if you are too tired one night, or get out of work late you can always order and don’t have to feel bad about cooking the next day instead. Make sense? I am posting a new super easy and healthy Mexican layered chicken recipe later today (www.cookingwithcoley.com), so it might be a good one for you to try.

Also, there might be some good tips on Self’s Eat Like Me blog (http://www.self.com/fooddiet/blogs/eatlikeme/trips-to-the-grocery-store/)

Comment by Nicole




Leave a Reply

