Lessons In Moderation


Count Down to Turkey Day!
November 16, 2009, 2:54 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I will be honest and say I’m not a huge fan of Thanksgiving food.  I like the leftovers the day after Thanksgiving on a sandwich but quite frankly I find all the food a little overwhelming. 

What I am looking forward to is 4 whole days off from work! I’m really looking forward to spending time with friends and family, trying to get some hard core exercise sessions in and putting up Christmas decorations!

But before that I need to get through Thanksgiving without completely going off the deep end foodwise.  The funny thing is I’m not really a huge fan of the Thanksgiving feast.  Turkey is just ok in my book and I like stuffing but it’s not one of my favorites and yet I still manage to overeat and feel gross.

This year I decided to make a list on food items I will eat without guilt and if I stick to my list I think I can manage a controlled splurge that won’t leave me feeling guilty or bloated. Anyone else trying to map out an eating plan for Thanksgiving?

Weekend was dismal as far as excercise goes but I did ok foodwise… I even passed on my usual Pad Thai on Friday to get something lighter.  Here is the recap… this is the first time I’m really adding it up so hopefully “not too bad” really is not too bad:)

Friday:

b-fast: 1/2 c oats, 1/2 water, 1 tbsp PB (250 cals)

lunch: Sweet and Sour Chix with rice and veggies (800 cals)

snack: Honey Oikos (100 cals)

snack: pomegranate arils (50 cals)

dinner: 1 beef taco with scoop of sour cream, salad (600 cals)

total: 1800 cals

exercise: none 😦

Saturday

brunch: I was at a baby shower so I had a scoop of scrambled eggs, two pieces of bacon, one piece of ham (protein), fruit salad and a cupcake (600 cals)

lunch-ish: I didn’t really have lunch since I had brunch but I snacked on some chips and some hummus and pita later in the afternoon (400 cals)

dinner: left over taco with salad on the side (500 cals)

dessert: Edy’s orange cremsicle bar (140 cals)

total: 1640

exercise: none 😦

Sunday

b-fast: egg white sammy with one piece of bacon on ww eng muff and honey flavored Oikos and coffee with skim (350 cals)

lunch: Butternut Squash Soup and chips (300 cals)

dinner: Spaghetti and Meatballs… two meatballs and about 1 cup of pasta (600 cals)

dessert: bowl of Cinnamon Toast Crunch with Skim (200 cals)

total: 1450 cals

exercise: none… that’s pitiful…it was a really nice day out too.  I need to stop being a lazy daisy 🙂

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

