Lessons In Moderation


Carbs…Friend or Foe?
November 5, 2009, 7:59 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

I went out to dinner with friends last night and had a great meal! I never order chicken at a restaurant but I ordered chicken fricassee and it was out of this world! More on that in a minute.  At dinner one of my friends was mentioning how she gave up carbs (meaning breads, not the ones in fruits and veggies) and lost a few pounds pretty quick.  She has done this before and lost weight too.  I have to mention the fact that she does not need to lose weight at all. I don’t know exactly how much she weighs now but I would venture I guess anywhere between 110-115. 

This got me thinking…Here is a person who really doesn’t need to lose any weight but manages to drop pounds quick with no carbs…..Maybe I need to cut the breads out of my diet and see what happens. Looking at my friend last night disgusted me and motivated me because I know at one point we weighed about the same and there I was feeling envious while sitting there in too tight pants.  I think I’m going to watch my carb intake for the next week and see what happens.

Anyway…we tried a new restaurant last night and like I said, best meal I have had in a while.  They had 3 courses for $25 so I took advantage and ordered butternut squash ravioli for the app.  It was to die for.  One giant squash filled ravioli topped with some amazing sauce and a fried egg! Very warm and fallish.  Then I had my chicken fricassee which had the most amazing sauce with little pearl onions, mushrooms and carrots.  Beyond good.  I finished off the night with a chocolate tart which was so amazing I couldn’t even finish it.  YUM!

Here is the rest of the days food recap:

b-fast: 1/2 c oats, 1/2 c water, 1 tbsp PB (250 cals)

lunch: tuna on melba toast (250 cals)

snacks: misc candy/pretzels (400 cals)

dinner: 3 courses of heaven plus 1 glass of wine (2000 cals)

total: 2900….I really hope I over estimated on that 2000 calories for dinner!!! 🙂

exercise: 2 mile walk

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

