Lessons In Moderation


It’s OK to be Hungry!
November 4, 2009, 4:45 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

I have the hungry horrors lately! I feel like I’m hungry all the time and its annoying! One of the things I am trying to accomplish with a balanced approach to my weight/health is not to slip into deprivation tactics to achieve my goals, which is what I relied on in the past.  When I was participating in bootcamp 3 times a week I figured I was working so hard I should eat whenever I’m hungry because my body was telling me it needed to replenish.  After not really losing any weight in 11 weeks I see that was not the case.

Even when I reached for healthy snacks, the calories still add up.  I am slowly but surely learning that its ok to be hungry.   If I eat breakfast at 6:30 a.m. I may occasionally get hunger pangs by 11:30, which is ok, but it’s not always ok to indulge that feeling.  At 11:30 a.m. I know that lunch is right around the corner and it’s not worth extra calories.  Now if I eat lunch around noon and I know I probably won’t be eating dinner until around 7:00 p.m., I think it’s ok to indulge my 3:00 hunger because the next real meal is still pretty far in the future.

I guess it all comes down to understanding your hunger and your body’s cues.  Hopefully this will help me with my 12 by 12 goal.  Hopefully I will be able to do it because right now I’m up 3 pounds so now it’s technically 15 by 12.  That sounds scary!

Here is yesterday’s food recap:

b-fast: 1/2 c oats, 1/2 c water, 1 tbsp PB, 1 tbsp choc chips (300 cals)

lunch: 1/2 c Mac n Cheese (400 cals)

snack: Oikos (90 cals)

snack: misc candy (300 cals yikes!)

dinner: tuna melt on ww english muffin and veggie soup (550 cals)

dessert: piece of wedding cake (200 cals)

total: 1900 cals….Need to get this between 1200 – 1500 daily! Damn you willpower and Halloween candy! 🙂

exercise: none 😦

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

