Lessons In Moderation


Health Fair and Candy
October 29, 2009, 6:35 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Yesterday I was lucky enough to attend a health fair right here in my office. Student nurses came in to help the on-site nurse calculate BMI, cholesterol and blood pressure.  My BMI was 123.8 which is within the normal range (but on the high side of normal) and my blood pressure was 110/80 which the nurse said was good.  She actually said that I must not let work stress me out too much.  I feel like a stress case all the time but I guess I’m not letting it get to my blood pressure!

The health fair was also stocked with some healthy snacks which included pita chips (they were stale so not that yummy), salsa, assorted fruits and veggies, string cheese and hummus.  I deffo pigged out on the hummus but I ate it with celery so I got some veggies in there.  Then I went back to my desk and munched on some of the Halloween candy people are bringing in.

Over the past few days I have unconsciously been grazing instead of putting the focus on larger meals and its been working out pretty good for me, but I’m not sure if its something I will keep up because I feel that with grazing, unless you are really disciplined you end up taking in a lot more calories than you realize.   I’m looking forward to my weigh in this week because I feel like I’ve made some progress and may be down a pound of actual FAT! I cleaned out my closet last weekend and I have so many awesome clothes that I love but just don’t fit me right now, so that has really been a motivated for me this week.  With the shaky economy and job instability it’s not an option for me to go out and buy all new clothes (well…I guess it is but it’s not smart) so by putting in a little effort it will seem like I went on a giant shopping trip when I can wear my old favorites and feel confident.

Here is yesterday’s food recap

b-fast: cinnamon toast crunch with skim (200 cals)

snack: hummus & celery (150 cals)

lunch: 1/2 c oats, 1 banana,  class=”hiddenSpellError” pre=””>H2o (250 cals)

snack: Misc candy (150 cals)

dinner: this is where it goes terribly wrong.  I went out to eat with my Dad to an Italian restaurant and maybe over indulged.

mussels in a garlic butter sauce, bread, salad with grilled eggplant, artichoke hearts and goat cheese, pound cake with fruit for dessert (1300 cals…I’m just guessing here)

total: 2050 cals…YIKES

exercise: none 😦

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

