Lessons In Moderation


Having a Worm in Your Soup Helps
October 20, 2009, 8:25 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

No joke… last night we were having soup and sandwiches for dinner and I had almost a whole carton of white rice leftover from Chinese food we got on Saturday.  I know, I know… white rice isn’t the most healthy choice but I had it didn’t want it to go to waste.

So my husband is stirring the soup…broth based with tons of veggies and rice… and I’m standing at the counter making sammys when all of a sudden I hear a “what is this….” and he comes running over with the spoon and shows me what I think is a just a longer piece of rice. My husband says no way it’s a worm.  I say, how the heck would get a worm get in our soup, I was using frozen veggies so the likelihood of that is slim.  He says its from the rice and he is never eating Chinese food again.  Which I guess is a plus because it’s not good for you. I’m still not sure if it was a worm but just the thought of it turned my stomach so we ditched the soup and just had sandwiches, which were hard to eat when all you can think of is a worm in your food.

So maybe I stumbled upon a diet trick…put insects in your food??? So gross, but it helped me keep my calorie count for the day!

Here is the calorie recap

b-fast: 1/2 c oatmeal, 1/2 water, splash of skim and 1 tbsp PB (250 cals)

lunch: veggie medley in soy sauce (200 cals)

2nd lunch: We had a Diwali party at work so I had some naan, some sort of mashed chickpea and veggie thing, a small scoop of curry stuff and salad (350 cals)

snack: Peach Chobani (140 cals)

dinner: 1 tomato sammy with 1/2 tbsp of mayo (200 cals)

total: 1140 cals

exercise: none 😦

Have any of you had any gross food experiences that have soured you on a certain food or restaurant.  Wait until you get the munchies then think about it and leave a comment.  That will curb your appetite:)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

