Lessons In Moderation


Why Am I So Hungry?
September 25, 2009, 12:57 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

I have always had a big appetite, but when I have lost weight before I was able to deal with reducing my caloric intake pretty easily after the first few days.  This time around I didn’t want to feel so restricted.  I wanted to focus more on working out and eating healthy food but that doesn’t seem to be moving the needle on the scale. An example of a typical day prior to this weight gain and weight loss I’m working on would be this: cereal with skim for breakfast (usually Special K or Fiber One), salad or a Lean Cuisine for lunch and whatever for dinner.  Add in a few 100 cal snacks and that was my day. My Lean Cuisine would always be under 300 calories so I would estimate my caloric intake to be roughly 1200-15oo calories depending on what I had for dinner.

Fast forward to now and I like to start my day with a more hearty breakfast of oatmeal, which definitely fills me up and I no longer need a morning snack to get me through to lunch but I’m wondering if that’s setting me up for hunger later in the day? It’s hard for me to eat a lighter dinner because that’s the one and only meal I share with my husband during the week and I want it to be something we both enjoy and can eat together for the experience.  I feel like I’m allowing myself to eat more calories than I typically would but they are healthy calories, but I feel more hungry than ever! What gives?

I think I’m going to try to ditch the oats in the morning in favor of a lower calorie option and see what happens. All I know is something has got to give because I really want to wear my scary pants and not have to go out and buy new ones! 🙂

Here is my food recap from yesterday:

b-fast: 1/2 c oats, 1/2 c skim, 1 banana, 1tbsp of PB (400 cals)

lunch: salad with feta and olives (200 cals)

snack: Chobani (160 cals)

snack: grapes (100 cals)

dinner: Chix Teriyaki pocket – no cheese, no sauce, just chix and grilled veggies (550 cals)

after dinner snack (because I was still hungry): ww english muffin with Laughing Cow cheese wedge (140 cals)

total: 1550 cals

exercise: none 😦

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

