Lessons In Moderation


I Will Run Again!
September 14, 2009, 2:45 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

Running never came easy to me, but with a little practice and persistance, I got to a point in my life where running three miles was no big deal (some days harder than others but always do-able) and 5 miles was a big push but still do-able.  Now it seems I can’t get out of my own way.  I decided to work on my speed yesterday.  I did my normal running route backwards and instead of starting out slow like I usually do, I started running pretty quick (for me) with the hope of tricking myself into thinking my normal speed would be by slow down speed.

That completely backfired I started off too fast, I couldn’t catch my breath and it was terrible and discouraging. I didn’t slow down to a jog, it was to a walk and nothing about the run felt right.  Maybe doing something simple like reversing my route really did challenge my body but the fact that I don’t even think I ran a quarter of a mile consistently makes me a little bummed.  I continued with the sprint/walk combo for the rest of the mile and then I walked for about another half mile and felt a little sad when I got home.

I decided to sit on my front porch swing to get out of my funk and it worked like a charm! Other than that it was a pretty good weekend. I went to a Wicked Wine and Brewfest with my mother and had the best clam chowder from Woodman’s.  It was not too creamy, had no celery and was full of clams. So good. I didn’t try too much wine but I did have some great beer. My favorites are the Shipyard PumkpinHead(some bars serve this with a cinnamon and sugar rim), and the Smutty Nose Star Island Single and Shoals Pale Ale.

Anyway…here is my food and exercise recap.  Tonight is the first regular season game for the Patriots! Can’t wait.  I’ll be watching the game and DVR-ing the season premier of Gossip Girl. What a night!

Friday:

b-fast: oatmeal with banana, skim and PB (450 cals…it was a big  bowl)

lunch: salad with ww pita, Italian dressing and feta (200 cals)

snack: blueberry Chobani (140 cals)

dinner: Fig & feta flat bread and salad (500 cals)

total: 1290 cals

exercise: 1 hour of bootcamp with a focus on upper body.  My arms STILL hurt.

Saturday

b-fast: 1/2 cup oatmeal with 1/2 cup skim and 1tbsp PB (290 cals) I’m being more careful with exact measurements

lunch (ish): I didn’ really had lunch but I had a series of snacks 1 tbsp hummus with 1 ww pita, 1/2 cup clam chowder, 1 sausage in a roll with onions and peppers – the sausage smelled so good so I got one and after one bite I realized I don’t like sausage so I ditched the meat and just ate the grilled veggies in the roll with mustard. (610 cals)

dinner: Crazy Noodles (thai dish) (1000 cals)

liquid cals: I am estimating that all my little tastes added up to 2 bottle of beer (300 cals)

total: 2200 cals (YIKES!)

exercise: none 😦

Sunday

b-fast: scrambled eggs with cheese, ww eng muffin and 1 wedge of Laughing Cow cheese and coffee (440 cals)

lunch: white cheddar rice cake with wedge of Laughing Cow cheese (120 cals)

snack: scoop of PB and 100 cal pack (300 cals)

dinner: some Asian Chicken meal in a bag I had in my freezer (400 cals)

dessert: small soft serve in a cup (300 cals)

total: 1660

exercise: walked, ran, jogged about 1.5 miles

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

