Lessons In Moderation


The Veggie Sneak Strikes Again
September 9, 2009, 5:07 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I tricked my husband into eating squash last night! I love it! He “hates” squash but I saw this really cool recipe that uses frozen squash to make mac n cheese so I figured it would give it a whirl.  I had back up food just in case he didn’t like it.   This experiment, just like the Mac n Greens experiment worked like a charm!

My error was actually telling him there was squash in it after dinner.  I’m sure if he decides to have left overs he will suddenly taste squash! 🙂 Anyway…. I found this recipe on a web site (sorry I don’t remember which one) and it was really simple so I just made it from memory without measuring anything.  To be honest, I don’t love squash.  I don’t hate it but its not my favorite vegetable, but I will try anything to make mac n cheese a little bit healthier.  I was really surprised how creamy the squash was.  I actually underestimated the amount of shredded cheese I had in my fridge so I think the squash to cheese ratio was pretty high and it still tasted great and pretty cheesey. Recipe to follow.

Yesterday I played in a basketball tournament at work and let me tell you, I’m a little sore today.  I must have been using muscles that I don’t regularly engage in bootcamp.  I’m mostly feeling it in my lower back.  I’m not good at basketball so I wasn’t looking forward to it, but it ended up being really fun, a great workout, and my team came in second place! Maybe I need to look into intramural sports?

Here is yesterdays food recap:

b-fast: oatmeal with skim and banana (300 cals)

lunch: green salad with balsamic viniagrette and feta (300 cals)

snack:  none 😦 I didn’t do a good job packing my lunch

dinner: Mac n Squeese (squash and cheese!) I probably had around 2 cups because I was hungry after the b-ball games (500 cals)

dessert: nectarine (100 cals)

total: 1200 plus 200… 1400… I want to add some cals in because I def snacked on some cheese and snuck a few bites when I was making dinner.

exercise: b-ball! About 20 minutes straight playing and then two more additional 10 min games (not back to back) FUN!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

