Lessons In Moderation


Should You Weigh Every Day?
September 4, 2009, 2:11 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,

I couldn’t resist the rhyme.  I told myself that I would weigh myself in once a week to monitor my progress but I had some extra time this morning so I decided to step on the scale and it said I was a pound heavier than I was yesterday!!! I know that’s not an accurate reading blah blah blah because no way I gained a pound yesterday but still it was kind of discouraging.

So discouraging, that I actually poured myself into my favorite jeans (that are way too tight) as some sort of sick and weird punishment. Maybe I thought a day of being uncomfortable would snap me into shape.  Thank God long sweaters are in style because I may have to pop the button after my Thai food (woo hoo for Friday Thai food tradition).

So back to the title of my post.  I have read articles that say don’t weigh yourself every day and others that say do weigh yourself every day.  I don’t necessarily think one is right or wrong unless you start to obsess. I used to weigh myself everyday when I was maintaining a happy weight because I was usually happy with what I saw on the scale and if it creeped up a pound or two I could adjust my eating/exercise. When I was trying to loose weight I was becoming obsessed with the number and weighing myself everyday was not helping so I ditched it. Maybe my too tight jeans are cutting off oxygen to my brain but I think I am going back to weighing myself everyday just for a while to help me motivate.

What do you guys think.  Do you weigh every day, once a week, or not at all?

Happy Labor Day weekend to everyone.  Make good food and drink choices! Easier said than done right?

Here is yesterdays food recap

b-fast: oatmeal with skim and PB (350)

lunch: salad with feta, vinaigrette (250)

snack: peach (100)

snack: banana (100)

snack: Pineapple Chobani (140)

snack: Fiber One Bar (140)

wowza…that’s a lot of snacks! it didn’t seem like that much when I was eating them.  Glad I typed them out.  Need to cut that out!

dinner: 2 Pita Pizzas on Joseph’s Flax, Oat Bran, and Whole Wheat Flour with cheese, mushrooms and onions (400 cals) Thanks Tina from Carrots ‘n’ Cake for the inspiration

dessert: one scoop Just Jimmies ice cream (100)

total: 1580

exercise: none 😦

My dinner should def have a salad but I was all out of greens so I really need to up my veggie in take.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Why torture the scale, I only step on it maybe once a month. I am retired and can still fit into my military uniform which is the same size as my high school graduation suit. I guess I am one of the lucky people in the world.

Comment by snoopy055




Leave a Reply

