Lessons In Moderation


The Thing About Salad
August 31, 2009, 1:28 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

I like salad a lot.  I like salad that is actually healthy too, it doesn’t need to be drenched in ranch dressing or covered with cheese and bacon and other high fat/high calorie toppings.  My problem is I don’t always care for the salads that I make at home. I don’t know why but to me salad it always better when I order it from somewhere.  Does any one else feel that way?

The other issue I have with salad is that I’m not a huge lettuce fan.  I eat it, but it’s not my favorite part of the salad.  To me there is nothing more disgusting than soggy lettuce and sometimes when I would make a salad in the morning for lunch, the lettuce would seem a bit suspect by the time I went to eat it.  I know it’s totally my mind playing tricks on me, but it didn’t make me enjoy my lunch and that’s a bummer.  I have learned a few tips and tricks on salad that I thought I would share in case anyone else is having the same issues.

Salad Tips:

Lettuce – I always bought those bags of salad greens, which are great, but if you don’t eat them right away I feel like it gets soggy and brown. I recently started buying a whole head of lettuce, cutting it all up and storing it in an airtight bowl in the fridge. The big trick is to put a paper towel over the top of the bowl before you but the cover on and store it upside down. The paper towel will soak up the excess moisture and keep the lettuce crisp.

No lettuce salad – With my lettuce issues I have found that sometime I enjoy a salad with everything else but lettuce.  I cut up broccoli, cukes, peppers, mushrooms etc… It’s great!

Dress it up – I always buy at least one or two special treats to use, like feta cheese, calamata olives or avocados. 

Anyone else have salad tips or good salad recipes?

Here is a weekend food recap. 

Fri:

b-fast: oatmeal with cinnamon, choco chips, skim (300 cals)

lunch: pad thai (900 cals)

dinner: stuffed cabbage rolls, stuffed grapeleaves, hummus, baba gannousj and pita bread (1000)

total: 2200 cals

exercise: 1 hour bootcamp with focus on cardio and lower body (in the rain!)

Saturday

b-fast: egg sammy on arnold whole wheat flat bread and one piece of cheese. Latte (400 cals)

lunch: salad with feta, olives and peppercinis with balsamic vinaigrette (300 cals)

dinner: 4 pieces of greek pizza (tomtos, olives, feta and they were tiny pieces) (450 cals)

dessert: small scoop of ice cream (200 cals)

liquid calories: 3 glasses of wine, one vodka drink (500 cals yikes!)

total: 1850

exercise: Ran 1.5 miles in the rain (my mile time was 10 mins, 32 seconds. Trying to shave off that 32 seconds in the next 6 weeks.

Sunday

b-fast: Onion bagel with chive cream cheese (500 cals)

lunch: taste of nachos, 2 chix wings, veggies and dip (we were at a cookout) (500 cals)

dinner: hotdog, mac n cheese, Caesar salad (1000 cals) – I had a ton of mac n cheese

total: 2000 cals

exercise: zippo

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

