Lessons In Moderation


I’m a Libra, I’m Supposed to be Balanced
August 26, 2009, 6:11 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I have talked a lot in this blog about physical health and eating a balanced diet, but I haven’t talked much about mental well being.  It’s pretty obvious that your state of mind has a serious effect on how you perceive life and how others perceive you so I try to stay balanced, focus on the good and learn from the bad but lately I’ve been having difficulty.

Let me just preface this with the fact that I truly do love my life and I’m very lucky that I have a great husband, family and friends but lately I’ve been feeling overwhelmed.  It’s one of those times where I’m feeling, I don’t have enough time, I don’t have enough money, I’m not smart enough… etc… A lot of negativity and when I sit back and really put things in perspective, there is enough time, there is enough money and sometimes I get the Final Jeopardy question right so I can’t be that dumb. 🙂

Starting this blog helped me refocus  and shift from negative to positive thinking again.  I love writing (my secret dream is to write a book and get it published) and I write a lot for work but I didn’t know how to make the time to start writing for myself.  By chronicling this aspect of my life its given me an inspiration to pursue other writing opportunities.

What inspired this blog entry was a recent visitor at my house.  My house has a great farmers porch with a wooden swing and some very cute white wicker furniture. When my friend was visiting and walked onto the porch she said, “This is great out here, you guys must sit out here all the time.” The truth is, we don’t and I don’t know why. When we bought our house a year ago I kept imagining coming home after work and enjoying some lemonade or some refreshing beverage on the porch swing in the summer and I think we have done that maybe once or twice. This may be a little cheesy but my porch swing has a lot of symbolism for me and it gives me a lot of comfort and makes me smile.

So moral of the story is, when you find yourself getting overwhelmed and becoming a Debbie Downer, find whatever your version of the front porch swing and sit on it for a while. 

Does anyone else get in a funk every once in a while?  What do you do to snap out of it?

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] decided to sit on my front porch swing to get out of my funk and it worked like a charm! Other than that it was a pretty good weekend. I […]

Pingback by I Will Run Again! « Lessons In Moderation




Leave a Reply

