Lessons In Moderation


A Little Bit of This, a Little Bit of That Adds Up to a LOT
August 26, 2009, 4:03 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

Yesterday…. where should I start.  Of course I started of f the day with oatmeal and then I was lucky enough to be able to have lunch with my husband. He had a meeting pretty close to my office so we met at Chili’s where I had a soup and garden salad combo.  Not too bad so far, but when I got there my husband already ordered chips and salsa.  I told myself I was going to have a taste but ended up eating quite a bit of chips.  Another lesson in intuitive eating.  I wanted a taste but I didn’t want to eat too much because I had a whole meal coming, but I ate them because they were there and that’s not a good reason.  Hopefully it was a learning experience.

Later that night we were having company so instead of dinner I made a few appetizers and cupcakes for people to graze on.  In an effort to stay ahead of my hunger I had a quick dish of frozen veggies (peas, carrots, lima beans) with soy sauce and some Thai Garlic Chili Sauce. It was yum, but it didn’t stop me from eating chips with queso dip, pub cheese and wheat thins and cocktail weenies! Not to mention the 3 glasses of wine and two beers.  What was I thinking?  As I was thinking about my food last night while I was eating breakfast this morning I decided that I really did have just a little bit of everything, with the exception of the queso dip so calorie wise it wasn’t terrible but nutritionally it was a little dismal.  Also, there is no reason to have 5 drinks on a work night, but in my defense, the white wine wasn’t chilled so I had a ton of ice so I probably only drank two regular glasses, but still…I didn’t need the two Bud Light Limes.  Oh well.

There is a good blog post here on Tara Parker-Pope’s Well blog at NYT.com about an RD’s definition of “normal eating”.  Normal eating (pretty much the same thing as intuitive eating from where I’m standing) seems so easy in concept, but for many people (myself included) its a bit of a challenge. The next time I recognize that I’m over indulging I’m going to really ask myself why I’m doing it.  Am I stressed? Happy? Sad? Bored? I think slowing down and listening to psychological clues can help curb the physical reaction of eating to satisfy something that isn’t hunger.   Last night I can definitely attribute some of the crazy eating to stress.  Now I have to work on identifying the reason before I eat too much! Does anyone have any tricks on how they do this?

Here is a food recap. Remember calorie counts are estimates.  If you think I’m way off on something let me know 🙂

b-fast: Oatmeal with skim and choco chips.  I used a little too much milk and it was a little liquidy for my taste (300 cals)

lunch: chips & salsa, Garden salad with oil & vinegar, tomato based veggie soup (450 cals)

snack: grapes (100 cals)

dinner: veggies with hot sauce (100 cals)

after dinner snacks: cocktail weenies in BBQ sauce, tortilla chips and queso dip, wheat thins and Pub Cheese,  licks of choco batter from cupcakes I made but never ended up eating a whole one when they were done (1000)

liquid calories: 2 Bud Light Limes and 2ish glasses of Pinot Grigio (400)

total: 2350 (YIKES!)

exercise: none 😦    Tonight is bootcamp and when I get home from that upper body work out I think I’m going to try to work on my mile time since I will already be all sweaty and in work out mode. Until then!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

