Lessons In Moderation


Oral Allergy Syndrome aka Why I Can’t Enjoy Nut Butter

When I was about 14 or 15 years old I noticed that every time I drank orange juice my tongue would swell and itch and I would break out in hives. The easy solution was to avoid orange juice, which I did and didn’t really think much of it.  A few years later I was eating Hershey Kisses with almonds and I got the same reaction, only this time it was more painful than the orange juice reaction.  Again I went with the simple solution of not eating Hershey Kisses with almonds.  When the same thing started happening over and over again with different fruits and nuts I finally went to the doctor and was diagnosed with oral allergy syndrom. Basically all tree nuts are off limits (I do not have the peanut allergy) and certain fruits are off limits. 

For example, I can eat grapes until the cows come home but one bite of an apple and I get very uncomfortable burning sensations in the back of my throat.  Apple pie is a totally different story because once the apple is cooked the enzymes change or something scientific like that (according to my allergist) and it doesn’t have the same effect.

My allergist said this type of allergy rarely results in anaphylaxis and I don’t have an epi pen or anything but I do have to keep careful because I don’t want to be at a business dinner and start breaking out into bright red hives around my mouth. 

As allergies go, this one isn’t too bad but it can limit what I can have for a healthy snack.  I so want to try Barney Butter because everyone raves about it but I guess that’s just not in the cards for me. Apples and nuts are so portable and last a long time so I’m in constant search of things that are non-processed and portable like that. Does anyone have and tips, tricks or ideas? I often eat grapes and bananas are usually a good option but I find sometimes they make my allergy flare up.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

