Lessons In Moderation


I Love Oatmeal!
August 24, 2009, 2:29 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

Oatmeal is a great quick breakfast food that really keeps me full until lunch.  Since I’ve started eating oatmeal in the mornings I have eliminated the need for a morning snack because I’m not starving at 10:00 a.m. anymore.

There are a lot of great recipes to jazz up your oatmeal.  I have been inspired by many of Kath’s over at Kath Eats Real Food.  I have been using regular Quaker Oats and just heating them in the microwave with 1/2 cup of skim milk.  I love mashing a banana into the oatmeal because that makes it extra creamy.  This morning I sprinkled in a few chocolate chips too and it was soooo good.  I think oatmeal is like a great blank canvas that can be dressed up with so many different things.  If you have any cool oatmeal ideas share them in the comments section!

Here is a quick food re-cap for the weekend.  All and all I did pretty good and the intuitive eating helped me say no to ice cream twice!

Fri

b-fast – Oatmeal with skim and craisins

lunch – Shrimp Pad Thai (it’s a Friday tradition to get Thai food)

dinner: Grilled chix (just a few pieces because I don’t like grilled chix), salad and pasta salad (may0 based Suddenly Salad…not super healthy but I like it.  Def too many carbs and not enough fruit and veggies on Fri)

dessert: 3 bites of coffee ice cream

Saturday

b-fast: Oatmeal with skim milk and PB

lunch: tuna sandwich on whole wheat bun and some cheese its

snack: grapes

dinner: Garden salad with grilled shrimp and sweet onion vinaigrette on the side

after dinner: said no to ice cream but said yes to a few cocktails and ended up eating a bunch of cheese doodles and M&Ms)

Sunday:

b-fast: Egg McMuffin from McDonalds (not terrible.  high in fat but also high in protein)

lunch: Italian ice.  I was at a car show all day (don’t ask) and it was so hot it really zapped my appetite. Plus I was pretty full after the Egg McMuffin.

snack: a few Wheat Thins with some cheese dip

dinner: ribs (I don’t like ribs so I just had a tiny bit), big salad, apple sauce, grilled potatoes

dessert: Edy’s Whole Fruit Lime bar (YUM)

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

