Lessons In Moderation


Recipe:Mac N Greens for the Un-Cook
August 19, 2009, 3:15 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

I adapted a great recipe I found on Kath Eats Real Food . Her recipe was titled Green Greens + Mac but I made a few modifications, number one because I didn’t have all the ingredients in my house and number 2 because I’m lazy.  I thought Kath’s recipe sounded really good because I love spinach and I love anything with cheese and pasta.  The problem is my husband says he hates spinach so I tricked him into trying it by telling him it was a different kind of pesto. He liked it…. A LOT! It’s a keeper.  Below is my quasi-recipe (I never measure) and the link to Kath’s is above if you want to try it with squash.

What You Need:

Macaroni (I used Dreamfields Elbow Macaroni)

1 package frozen spinach (or you can use fresh greens and cook them… see Kath’s recipe for instructions)

Frozen cauliflower- maybe half a bag?

1/2 cup shredded cheese (I used low-fat cheddar and a little sprinkle of fresh Parmesan)

Mushrooms (I used pre-sliced in a jar)

Feta for garnish (I used low fat Athen’s)

What to do:

Prepare pasta as package instructs (you know boil, drain)

While pasta is boiling defrost the frozen spinach and cauliflower

When veggies are defrosted drain the excess liquid and dump in the food processor or blender – side note…I bought a mini-food processor and it’s the best. I highly recommend it.

Puree the veggies until you get a sauce like consistency. Add salt, pepper, cayenne pepper to taste.  If its too thick add water (or chix broth) until you get the desired consistency.

Once you get the “sauce” the way you want it, dump it in a bowl and mix in your shredded cheese.  The cheese should melt because the veggies should still be hot but I put the entire mixture in the microwave for 30 seconds just to get it a little more melty.

Add sauce and a some mushrooms to the pasta and scoop it out into your dinner bowls.  Garnish each bowl with a sprinkle of feta.

I can’t even tell you how good this was.  We both loved it and are excited to eat the left overs. 

If you try it let me know how you like it!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

