Lessons In Moderation


Can’t Believe it!
August 7, 2009, 2:21 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

Last night was a bad one.  I didn’t feel any lighter because I WASN’T! I actually gained .6 pounds! So frustrating. So between all the gains and losses over the past 6 weeks I think I have hit a plateau. 

So how did I deal with it? Well after the weigh in I had to run to Target to grab a few things and while I was standing in line I grabbed a roll of Rolos (so good).  I’m not a huge candy person usually (can we say emotional eating) but when I do eat candy Rolos are right up there for me.  So in the two minutes it takes for me to get to Target to my friends house for dinner I inhale the Rolos. 

I get to my friends and she has out a party mix that includes Doritos, Cheetos, pretzel sticks, Fritos and all that good stuff so I think I must have eaten half the bowl.  Then she puts out the delish pizza made with fig preserves, Gorgonzola and caramelized onions and I ate 5! of those! (just so you know they were cut into small little pieces but still…5 is not a good example of eating in moderation). Plus I had a very refreshing watermelon vodka drink!

By the time dinner came I was pretty much ready to throw up, but I powered through and had a great salad with arugula, feta and grilled watermelon.  I am obsessed with watermelon in salad. Once it was time for the main course I seriously had no room left for more food, but I didn’t want to be rude so I had a pieces of broccoli and a scoop of the spicy sweet potatoes which were very good.

So basically I was so mad with my weight gain I binged and self sabotaged which led to a stomach ache and a night of weird dreams (I blame the vodka for those!).   So I learned a valuable lesson….First of all binging is never the answer! Also, I need to be more in tune with how I’m feeling versus what I’m eating.  Normally I would never reach for candy as something to snack on just because I’m not a big candy person.  Doritos yes, but candy no so if I just took a step back and thought before I bought the Rolos I might have saved myself a night of wreckless eating!  Also… if you remember from previous posts, I didn’t eat anything after 2:00 p.m. so I was stressed and STARVING so I set myself up for failure.

This weekend is a bachelorette party plus a week of crazy eating out so we will see what happens.  Unitl then!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I have done this same bingeing many many times. I go for it when I am feeling down and just emotionally eat. Even after losing 130 lbs I still do it. It is good that you are trying to monitor and correlate your eating and feelings. This is a good lesson. Thanks and good luck

Comment by run4change

Thanks for the comment and congratulations on losing 130 lbs! That is an amazing accomplishment. I think writing down my eating and fitness habits will really make me think about what I’m doing so I can identify triggers that might lead to an unhealthy choice.

Comment by afontaine16




Leave a Reply

