Lessons In Moderation


Oh My Achin’ Arms
August 6, 2009, 4:02 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , ,

Last night in bootcamp it was focused on upper body, which was BRUTAL! In a good way though (I think).  Anyway… we did these exercises called 21 and down which is basically torture.  First we started off with 21 PUSH UPs and then we went right in to 21 mountain climbers.  From then you start all over again doing 20 push ups then 20 mountain climbers until you get down to 1.  I’m not good at math but I think that’s like a million push ups!  We did the same thing with tricep dips off a bench and some other kind of exercise that was like doing a push up with your arms (off a bench) but then doing the jumping jack motion with your feet.   That mixed in with some light cardio was a really great work out but I was STARVING.  On a side note, blow drying my hair this morning was agony…my arms were killing me!

I didn’t plan my meals/snacks for the day that well and I ended up sneaking out for ice cream (mint patty frozen yogurt for me) around 2:00 p.m. and that was the last thing I ate.  Not the best food to power me through an intense bootcamp.  For dinner we went to my favorite restaurant Maria’sand I ordered the Maza 3 platter which comes with tabbouleh (sp? I see it spelled so many different ways), hummus, olives, stuffed grape leaves and cucumbers.  My plan was to avoid the pita bread and eat the hummus with the cukes but that didn’t work out so well.  In the future I will just ask the waitress not to bring the bread or bring a half order because I definitely polished off at least 2 large pita pockets, and they were not whole wheat.

I worked hard so I don’t feel too bad about all the refined carbs, plus the meal was pretty veggie heavy.  Tonight is weigh in day at Weight Watchers and I have been doing pretty good this week. Not as much cardio as the past two weeks but last week I did a 5K and two hour long boot camp sessions and I gained 1.2 pounds so who the heck knows what will happen.  I don’t feel lighter.

Also, as an FYI… I really want to write a post about my fitness/food history and current stats (height & weight) but I’m really really scared to put the weight out there.  I am going to go out of my comfort zone soon so look for that post!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

