Lessons In Moderation


I Finished the 5K
July 29, 2009, 2:47 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , ,

One of my favorite races to run is the Yankee Homecoming 5K in Newburyport, MA.  It’s a great route, tons of things to look at while running and great spectators that pump you up so I was really looking forward to training and running this race.  The problem…I never really motivated myself to train and it had been well over a year since I ran a 5K.  Yesterday it was 90 degrees and humid and I really wanted to blow it off, but after it was over I’m so glad I did it (even though my time was very slow and I had to walk a few times during the race). 

I am not a runner by any means, so when I first started training and participating in 5K races it took a lot of motivation and effort.  I thought if I couldn’t run the whole thing it wasn’t worth doing.  When I made a few feeble attempts at training for Yankee Race, I was easily discouraged because I couldn’t jump right back into running 3-5 miles in my first attempts.  This race really opened my eyes to the fact that a race atmosphere is motivating, fun and supportive.  I didn’t have to be the best and it was ok to walk when I needed to because I was out there, trying to challenge myself and be healthier.  Living life with an all or nothing mentality can be really limiting!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

